Pressing Start (Losing the “want to be” attitude)

Hello all,

Let me start by acknowledging my lack of experience in the blog world. This will be a learning process, but I assure you that I am here with a purpose. I like to read, I like to write, and it would be nice to make a living doing both. To be successful in this endeavor, there are a few basic things that I know I need to do

  • Read often
  • Write often
  • Study the craft
  • Submit work (But where?)
  • Mingle with the right people (Who are these people?)

This was my list, my starting point, but what else? What is it that I don’t know, who can teach me, and how do you know what you don’t know? 

I couldn’t answer these questions, but I did have my list, so during my freshman year of college, I enrolled in Intro to Creative Writing. I didn’t like the content, most of what we read wasn’t in my comfort zone, but some how I knew there was something good about that. This was going to be my world. I made Creative Writing my major, added a literature minor, and have been studying both since January, 2008.

When making my schedule for this semester, I came across something different, a class I hadn’t seen before. “Literary Citizenshipwith professor (and author) Cathy DayI had taken other classes with her in which we touched on things that I wasn’t even aware I needed to know. If ever there was a class to prepare me for the career I want, it was this one. Still, I was left wondering, what is “Literary Citizenship?” Through the class blog, I found my answer: a definition of Literary Citizenship

To begin our class, we’re reading Create Your Writer Platform: The Key to Building an Audience, Selling More Books, and Finding Success as an Author by Chuck Sambuchino. Through reading this book and taking this class, I’ve realized it’s time to “press start” once again, but this time it’s bigger. This time it isn’t just school, it’s the real world and it’s time to be a part of it. 

I’ve been holding myself back, stuck in an unhealthy mindset. New York, Boston, London, Paris. These are places writers come from, or so I thought. It’s hard to grow up in a small, midwestern town, come from a long line of non-readers, be raised in a household without books and still think of yourself as a writer. It’s time I start. I know that stereotype to be a fallacy. I’ve read midwestern writers, I have spoken with them and I know they are real. Like them, I have things to say, things I need to say so no more holding myself back. It’s time to start this journey and I thank you for coming along for the ride. 

Because you have found your way here, I assume that you have similar interests and I hope that sharing this experience will be helpful to you as well.

 

Leave a Reply

